displaykillo.blogg.se

Thank me later vinyl record
Thank me later vinyl record







thank me later vinyl record thank me later vinyl record

“That was probably the only one of my albums that was remotely influenced by where I was at in my career at the time,” Drake said in a December 2019 interview on Rap Radar. Drake admits Thank Me Later is the only album of his created from expectations. By this point, you would expect the most popular rapper in the world to sound like an R&B artist for a considerable amount of any album he releases. The first four tracks of his most successful album, 2016’s six-time-platinum Views, has as many only-singing songs in its first four tracks. That’s practically unheard of for more than half of the Canadian’s genre-defying career. Outside of “Cece Interlude” and “Find Your Love,” two of the last three songs on the album, Drake’s 14-track debut didn’t have any other songs featuring him only singing. Nothing about Thank Me Later is as glaringly different than nearly every Drake album as the imbalance between singing and rapping. The then-23-year-old newcomer didn’t have that experience or confidence in his talents and succumbed to the piercing criticisms as an emotional artist who sang enough for his rapping abilities to be questioned. “It’s just really trying to tell the greatest story that’s never been told, which is the story of a rapper’s come-up, and tell it without being corny or over-bragging or sounding like, ‘Feel sorry for me.’ It’s going to be a very interesting record because I’m really going to have to dig deep and tell stories that people can relate to,” Drake told MTV in October 2009.ĭrake wanted to be everything to everyone, a trait he’s refined through the years into an internal homing device enabling him to precisely tap into what makes a hit in different genres.









Thank me later vinyl record